NewWorldCounseling

NewWorldCounseling

5.0
1 employee
5 years in business

About this pro

I work with children and families and adolescents. I do hypnotherapy and play therapy and sand tray therapy and I work in Claymont Delaware. I'm very approachable, kind,gentle, and flexible and friendly. I try to work around people's schedules even though I have my own busy family. I appreciate people who respect my schedule as well and will work with me one to one to arrange a working plan. I will do office, online or home visits depending on what is most needed. I take some insurance or will do self pay on a sliding scale. 

what I really love about my work is that I have the opportunity to get to know different people, and to discover who they are as actual human beings.  In my daily life I am restricted to the vantage point of my own personal and cultural experience. While the same is true with my work as a therapist I am in the unique position of being entrusted with another person or persons sacred experience. I am interested in staying attuned to people and fine tuning my own capabilities to discern their needs for healing or support in being of assistance. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Claymont , DE 19803
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new customer?

Contact by phone or email and I will contact you back within 24-48 hours. Please leave me information as to what type of information I can leave on a voice message or email and which is ok to contact or if both are ok. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a Masters degree in Social Work and licensed in PA and Delaware. I worked in Arizona and went to graduate school there so my cross cultural experience is somewhat specific to the cultural sensitivities of native southwestern people. I also worked in Montgomery county and Prince George and Howard county MD as a pre masters level worker so I know the urban culture of the DC metro area . I've worked with people across a broad spectrum of ages and in a wide range of settings but I do focus on children and families, individuals, and mainly on anxiety and mood disorders relationship issues .  I'm interested in how people relate to each other and focus on improving the quality of lives for them selves and those around them and I deal with problems related to grief and loss. I deal with complex attachment problems often, i divorce and marital conflict , couples issues, relationships conflict, and acute and complex trauma. I work with people who have developmental issues and long term problems pain management. I generally do not turn someone away who wants help if they believe I can help them. That's the most important element.  Some issues I do not work with. If I cannot help some one I'll tell them. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your services? If so, please share the details here.

I charge what the standard rate is for what is competetitive so that I can be self respecting.  I used to charge very low prices and then I would get taken advantage of.  I figured out that I needed to charge the average rate and then if they can't pay I can offer a sliding scale.  I take insurance including Medicaid. 


How did you get started in this business?

I started as a Bachelor level Human Service worker after being a peer counselor on a student help center hotline this next led to jobs working in crisis shelter, hotline and psychiatric rehabilitation. I went to school for my Masters degree in social work beginning in 1993. 


What types of customers have you worked with?

I have worked with adults adolescents and children individually and in families.